HISTORY OF THE PARISH OF BUGUEY, CAGAYAN
Fr. Martino Concato, OFM
to Fr. Francisco Rojano, a great chronicler of Cagayan, the first conquistadores arrive in this province came through a lagoon
near the town of Buguey named Cagayan, which gave the name
to this province as well as to the natives living there.
Spaniards set foot in Buguey soon after they founded Nueva Segovia ( Lalloc). The
Dominicans took over its administration, during their Chapter held on June 15, 1596, under the patronage of St. Vincent Ferrer,
which in the chapter held on May 20, 1623, was changed to that of Sta. Ana until
is not know where the etymology of Buguey comes from. Perhaps it makes reference
to the frequent shipwrecks that used to take place in its shores near the mouth of the Cagayan river. Such is the opinion of Fr. Antonio Lobato who, in his dictionary, writes under the word Buguey: to sink,
to be shipwrecked.
the year 1616, Don Juan de Silva, Governor General, granted permission to build a church and a convent. In 1617, Don Antonio de Valtierra was the encomendero. According
to Fr. Rojano, in 1732 the church and the convent were destroyed by fire caused by a vigil lamp that was burning in one of
the rooms. It was a pity to see the best around go up in flames.
Dominicans were in Buguey till 1897 when the American took over the government of the Philippine Islands and the secular priest
s, the spiritual care of the people.
World War II the convent was burned down – its ruins can still be seen.
Gerardo Filippetto and Fr. Angelo Ramponi arrived in March of 1952 and took over the administration of the parish from the
last Filipino secular priest, Fr. Francisco Boado. They also stated the Italian
Franciscan Foundation of Cagayan.
the last 26 years the parish was reorganized both spiritually and materially. Spiritually,
by the increased assistance given to the barrio folks, bringing to them the Mass
and the sacraments. Parish organizations were reorganized and increased; religious
instruction begun to be imparted in all public schools. Materially, by the improvements
done in the convent and church: the convento was enlarged; the church walls were plastered, the roofing was replaced, and
a new granolithic floor was laid.
present, the parish is served by two priest: Fr. Antonino Sernagiotto, OFM parish
priest, and Fr. Martino Concato, OFM, regular superior, vicar forane and member of the Diocesan Council of Priests.
Febrauary 1978, the fraternity of the Third Order was recognized. Fr. Bernardine
Leones, OFM, Natinal Spiritual
Director of the Third Order, was in Buguey for the occasion and talked to the Tertiaries about the Franciscans spirituality.
!V Centenial Activities
July 10, 1978, the Bugueyanos held an impromptu program to welcome the rev. Fr. Ezechiele Danieli, OFM, the Provincial of the Venetian Province. In
the course of the program the people thanked Fr. Provincial again and again for having sent the Franciscans to Cagayan. They also expressed their deep gratitude to all the Franciscans who have worked here
and expressed their wishes that young Filipino Franciscans continue working here.
September 10, 1978, the Very Rev. Fr. Silvestre Murillo, vicar, visited the Cagayan foundation.
He met with the Tertiaries and talked to them at length about the history of the Franciscan Order, particularly in
the Philippines. He expressed satisfaction for the many vocations to
the Order here in the Philippines; our house of formation are filled with candidates, some of whom hail from Cagayan. This is indeed good news to hear during the fourth centennial
____ 400 Years 1578 -1978 FFRANCISCANS IN THE PHILIPPINES